Skip to content

Drink

April 10, 2013

I offered up my overflowing cup,

He drank but was not satisfied.

Breasts, pouting stomach,

Elastic thighs, toes and fingers, each

Electric hair.  The ritual dismembering;

One eye begins, Oh Lover,

The other finishes, Don’t I satisfy you?

I am as dumb as a twig. Even Sparrow mothers

Know when it is time to bump the young ones:

We cannot hold on to anyone in this life –

(Am I not enough? Drink more.)

I offered him my cup but he was not satisfied,

We want to fill fully the other, forever –

(That conniving mistress,

That basket of death wishes festooned in hope,

Treacherous and fallacious word)

I wish I was a worm.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

